Mr. Manjeev Singh Puri

Ambassador of India to the European Union, Belgium and Luxembourg


Mr. Manjeev Singh Puri assumed charge in Brussels on 2nd January 2014. He presented his credentials to His Majesty the King of the Belgians on 13 February 2014 (pic) and to His Royal Highness the Grand Duke of Luxembourg on 18 June (pic). Earlier he had presented his credentials to the President of the European Council on January 15 (pic) and the President of the European Commission on February 6 (pic).

Ambassador Puri is a member of the Indian Foreign Service, having joined the service in 1982.


Prior to Brussels, he was Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative of India to the UN in New York, having served there from 2009 to 2013. He was a senior member of India’s Security Council team during the years 2011-2012, when India served on the Security Council.


Ambassador Puri was actively involved with issues of sustainable development and environment and was a lead negotiator in India’s delegation for the UN Conference on Sustainable Development held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in June 2012. He was a key member of India’s delegation at various Climate Change negotiations, including the Major Economies Forum and the Conference of Parties of the UNFCCC in Copenhagen in December 2009.Ambassador Puri served on the Board of the Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate and is on the Advisory Board of India’s most well known environment organization, TERI (The Energy and Resources Institute, New Delhi).


From 2005-09, he headed the United Nations Division in the Ministry of External Affairs in New Delhi dealing with economic and social issues. His charge included global economic and development issues, environment, climate change, sustainable development, human rights, migration, humanitarian affairs and UNESCO related matters. He was closely involved with India’s participation in the G8-G5 Summits from 2005 and led the Indian delegation for the first meeting of the Global Forum on Migration and Development in Brussels in July 2007.


In the course of his Foreign Service career, Ambassador Puri has served twice in Germany (in Bonn from 1984-86 and Berlin from 1991-94) and speaks German. He was the coordinator of the Festival of India in German in 1991-92 and established the Indian Cultural Centre in Berlin.


Ambassador Puri’s other postings have been Bangkok (1986-89), Caracas (1989-91), Cape Town (1998-2002), Muscat (2002-05) and as Deputy Chief of Protocol in-charge of high level visits in the Ministry of External Affairs from 1994-98.


Manjeev Singh Puri (born 1959) has a Masters degree in Management and had worked for Hindustan Unilever before joining the Government of India. He did his BA (Honours) in Economics from St. Stephen’s College, Delhi University, with top honours. He is married to Mrs. Namrita Puri and they have two children.

– See more at:

Honorary Consul General of India:

In Antwerp

Mr Marc A Huybrechts,
Honorary Consul General of India in Antwerp
de Merodelei 29 Apartment 3
Tel: 0032-3288-8545
GSM (Mobile): 0032-475-427-509

In Luxembourg

Mr.Milerengam Doraiswamy Venkataraman
Honorary Consul General of India in Luxembourg
Maison Dorai,
1J, Route d’Arlon
L-8310 Capellen
Tel: 00 352 307 733
GSM: 00 352 691 307 799
Fax: 00 352 556 12521 &

– See more at:

Name Designation E-mail Phone
Mr Manjeev Singh Puri Ambassador of India to Belgium, Luxembourg and the European Union 02-645 18 51
Mrs Renu Sharma Deputy Chief of Mission 02-635-18 52
Mr Ankan Banerjee Counsellor (EU & Press Information, Culture & Education)
02-645 18 59
Mr. V. Ashwini Saxena Counsellor (Consular & Diaspora) 02-645 18 61
FAX No : 02-649 82 14
Mr. Sarvesh Rai Adviser (Agriculture & Marine Products) 02-645-1856
Ms Nausheen J Ansari Adviser (Industry & Engineering) 02-645 18 57
Brig B. D. Rai
Stationed at EoI Paris
Military Attache 0033-140505050
Air Cmde. N. Tiwari Stationed at EoI Paris Air Attache 0033-140505031
Mr. S. Inbasekar First Secretary (Political & EU) 02-645 18 55
Dr Praphullachandra Sharma First Secretary
[Political (Belgium & Luxembourg) and HoC] 02-645 18 53
Mr. Hardeep Batra First Secretary (Trade) 02-645 18 60
FAX No : 02-645 18 67
Mrs. Soumya Chandrashekharachari Second Secretary (European Parliament) 02-645 18 63
Mr. Rohit Babbar Second Secretary /Private Secretary to Ambassador 02-645 18 51
Mr Girish Juneja Second Secretary/ Private Secretary to DCM 02-645 18 52
Mr. Rajendra Kumar Meena Second Secretary (Trade) 02-645 18 64
Mr. Deepak Second Secretary (Administration) 02-645 18 62
Mr Kumar Gaurav Third Secretary(EP) 02-645 18 58
Ms. R. Priyadharsini Third Secretary 02-645 18 58
Ms. B. Rakhee Mayuri Third Secretary 02-645 18 58
Mr. Ajay Agrawal Attache (Consular) 02-645 18 65
02-6451869 (Fax)
Mr. Korakula Chakrapani Attache (Private Secretary to Ambassador) 02-645 18 51
Mrs. Reema Babbar Attache [Private Secretary to FS (EU)] 02-645 18 54
Mr. Anil Dutt Raturi Attache (Accounts) 02-640 91 40
Mr.  Rentala Sesha Srinivas Attache
(Private Secretary to HoC) 02-640 91 40

– See more at:

For More Information or Event Query

Venkkat Prannit Nissankara